Passion, Knowledge & Experience
Innocent and Facing Charges That Would Have Ruined My Life
AUO - Experienced attorneys can help.
In New York State, the charge of Aggravated Unlicensed Operator (AUO) comes in three degrees:
- AUO 1st Degree is a Class E Felony.
- AUO 2nd Degree is a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $1,000, jail for up to 180 days, and/or probation. In cases where the AUO is charged as a result of a DWI-related suspension, there is also a minimum jail term of 7 days.
- AUO 3rd is a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $500 and jail of up to 30 days.
Call a Rochester Lawyer experienced in AUO charges at (585) 485-0025.
In and around Rochester, New York, AUO charges are handled in a variety of ways. Often, the charges arise when people have unresolved tickets, unpaid fines, or some other reason for a license suspension or revocation. A person charged with AUO - especially AUO 3rd - might not even realize their license is suspended or revoked.
In instances like this - in certain courts - a charge of AUO can often be disposed of with a non-criminal disposition if we first clear up any issues with your license. Sometimes this means paying fines in distant justice courts, or providing proof of insurance to the DMV. When you come to see us, we will obtain a copy of your driver's abstract from the DMV, and determine what may need to be done to clear your license. Then, we will set out to do just that. Our goal is to arrive in court with your license cleared.
There are other instances in which we need to do more than just clear your license. For example, prosecutors and courts are much less willing to offer lenient plea deals when your AUO is the result of a suspension or revocation from a DWI, or too many points on your license. If this is the situation you find yourself in, consider hiring an experienced attorney.
A criminal defense lawyer can help guide you through an AUO charge - Contact us at The Militello Law Firm for a free telephone consultation and case evaluation. (585) 485-0025